Feedback or requests for help with the site.
Oct 9th, 2015, 10:28 am
I love this site, I really do. However, I have one little niggle. That being, in the sci-fi/fantasy ebook section, when I am looking to find a good fantasy or sci-fi book, I run across a lot of apocalyptic fiction (zombies, government breakdown. etc.) and I wondered if it was possible to create a new section just for that type of fiction?

Fair enough if it not, but sometimes i get tired of when I am trawling through looking for book, of finding 2 to 3 books of apocalyptic fiction for every 1 of sci-fi/fantasy.
Oct 9th, 2015, 10:28 am
Oct 10th, 2015, 8:25 am
Hello! Thanks for your post. As the Mod leading the Recat team, I wanted to respond with some thoughts.

As a librarian, I do understand your reasoning, however we feel that the current hierarchy is the best and easiest for both the users and the Moderators. Multiple sub-genres would become too unwieldy to maintain. Believe it or not, we actually get complaints from users who don't like the current structure and want ALL eBooks in ONE forum! If we were to have sub-forums under the SciFi/Fantasy/Horror we'd be looking at at least:

Alternate History
Arthurian Fantasy
Bangsian Fantasy
Biopunk
Child in Peril
Comic Horror
Creepy Kids
Cyberpunk
Dark Fantasy
Dark Mystery/Noir
Dystopian
Erotic Vampire:
Fabulist
Game-Related Fantasy
Gothic
Hard Science Fiction
Hauntings
Heroic Fantasy
High/Epic Fantasy
Historical
Magical Realism
Military SF
Mundane SF
Mystery SF
Mythic Fiction
New Age
Post-Apocalyptic
Psychological
Quiet Horror
Religious
Science Fantasy
Science-Fiction Horror
Social SF
Soft SF
Space Opera
Splatter
Spy-Fi
Steampunk
Superheroes
Supernatural Menace
Sword and Sorcery
Technology
Thriller SF
Time-Travel
Urban Fantasy
Vampire
Weird Tales
Wuxia
Zombie

Which, as I hope you can see, if just far too involved and complicated. :lol: